Walking in Wentworth (and talks of Downton…)

by swonderfulsmarvellous

I went on a lovely family walk today around a little village not too far away from where I live called Wentworth. The Wentworth estate was owned by one of the most influential families in Britain up until the mid 20th century. The Fitzwilliam family sold off a lot of their properties in the 1980s, and the biggest house on their estate (and the largest house front in the WHOLE of Great Britain) sadly fell into a state of disrepair.

Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve wanted to be able to see inside Wentworth Woodhouse. It’s such a beautiful building, it used to make me sad that nobody was using it. There are rumours that the house will be turned into a luxury spa and hotel in the near future- I really hope it does, because a house as beautiful as this one deserves to be used and enjoyed!

I’m so lucky to live close by so I can admire it at my leisure. It makes me think of Downton Abbey, grand dinner parties and receptions for monarchs and heads of state. (Kings and Queens were known to visit Wentworth Woodhouse and were entertained in a 365 roomed house. I would definitely have got lost!)

Compared to this, Downton Abbey looks like a shed!

(I really think my little old iPhone did well as a camera for the day. Let me know what you think!)

<3

