Venturing Into The Unknown

by swonderfulsmarvellous

I haven’t made it particularly public on here that over the last year I have been an out-of-work graduate. Swonderful smarvellous started as an outlet for my frustrations, a get away from all the CVs, covering letters and job applications. Because of that, I didn’t want it cluttered with posts where I moaned about my failures for all the world to see. Nobody wants to read about depressing things like that.

Taking that into consideration, I don’t want to ramble on about how hard it’s been over the past year, moving home and applying for hundreds of jobs with little success. It’s safe to say, though, that I felt that my dream of living and working in London with a publishing company was slowly slipping away.

Luckily, I decided to give it one last shot. I applied for a graduate scheme with a publisher based in London around 2 months ago. Even after every successful stage of the application process, I convinced myself I wouldn’t get it. I learned the hard way that hope is a very dangerous thing when you’re applying for jobs. Especially jobs you really want.

To cut a long and depressing story short, I had a phone call last week from a lovely woman who explained that I had been successful in gaining a position on the graduate scheme. I’m pretty sure I deafened her with my screams.

And so I can now say with confidence that I am moving to London on September 1st 2012 to start a job in publishing.

OMG I AM SO EXCITED I THINK I’M GOING TO PEEEEEE!!!!!! AHSAIV;EHLRWJFKWV KSOLK!!!!!

(That was me having a job induced fit.)

Ps. A quick thank you is in order to all my family and friends who have tolerated my bouts of insanity this past year. And also to all the lovely people who have followed this blog with likes and comments and follows. Thank you for keeping me sane through the madness.

