Kensington Palace Visit (or THAT TREE LOOKS LIKE A PENIS AND THE WALLS ARE TALKING!)

by swonderfulsmarvellous

20130107-232312.jpg

So I went to a palace at the weekend. And it wasn’t as palace-y as you’d expect.

I cropped the picture above, but you can probably still see part of a bright yellow digger in the corner. Kensington Palace is currently undergoing some kind of building work. Not sure how they’re going to make it better- we thought this was the  back, because it is a pretty horrible red brick building.

20130107-232319.jpg

Saying that, it is in a nice park, so it’s not all bad. And it has a nice statue of Queen Victoria (made by her daughter, Louise. Check me and my Victorian knowledge.)

20130107-232326.jpg

Inside, it’s pretty disappointing. Out of all the historical places I’ve visited in London, it’s the one I enjoyed least (though the company was excellent- my housemate Claire kept me entertained by pointing out phallic trees and books filled with countless job possibilities.)

20130107-232333.jpg

Is that not just the best job in the world? Anyway, Kensington Palace was a massive let down because of 3 things.

1. Half the rooms were empty. Pretty rubbish, considering I’d paid £13.20 to get in.

2. The rooms that did have things in them didn’t really explain what the things were. I like to learn!

And 3. There was a ‘hidden door’ in one of the rooms (like in Downton Abbey, natch) and I was very excited to go and find it, but when we got there it had been propped open. I mean, what’s the point of having a hidden door if you’re going to reveal it straight away?

There is no point.

It wasn’t all bad though. We got to see some nice paintings, and I learnt about how Queen Anne had lots of children that died (so sad!) And I saw many penis shaped trees.

So that was my weekend!

(I look scared in the window booth picture because when I sat down the walls started talking to me and it was unexpected.)

