Poppy D competition- styling an interview outfit

by swonderfulsmarvellous

Poppy Dinsey is currently running a competition with Job Academy where you can win £150’s worth of Selfridges vouchers. All you have to do is come up with your perfect interview outfit- and as a former interviewee extraordinaire, I thought this was the perfect competition for me! (And obviously having £150 to spend in Selfridges would be lovely too….)

Thankfully, I’m currently employed at a lovely company working as an editor- but my working life got off to quite a rocky start. I had to fight really hard to get into the industry that I felt passionate about- I’m talking countless phone interviews, face to face interviews, rejection letters, online applications, online assessments, a few more rejection letters….it was all pretty rubbish.

The one thing I was never confident about was what to wear to an interview. My first ever interview as a graduate was at a very large, very famous magazine. I walked into the interview head to toe in Topshop, only to find myself staring down girls with Mulberry bags and perfect Chanel nails. It knocked my confidence before I’d even talked about the job, and made me feel about as fashionable as a circus tent.

If I was to go into an interview now, this would be my outfit of choice. Bright trousers, a plain jumper, and bright nails and lips to make things pop a little.

Untitled

(Sweater, £129, Ted Baker; Trousers, £215, MSGM; Shoes, £16.99, New Look; Bag, £40, Topshop; Nars lipstick, £18.50; OPI nail polish, £11.50.)

Totalling up the cost of this outfit, I can safely say I will never wear it to an interview! Unless I win £150’s worth of Selfridge’s vouchers to cover some of the cost…. 🙂

What do you think of my outfit? (My housemate hates the trousers!)

